BBQ Chicken

image

Growing up in a southern family BBQ was a huge part of our diet. I watched my Mama whip up some great BBQ in my early years. I remember my siblings & I having sauce all over our faces. LOL. It wasn’t until I started cooking that I learned to appreciate the time, energy & passion that went into preparation.

image

As I prepared this my Mama & Brother was on my mind. My brother took over making Mama’s BBQ sauce. My Brother can cook his ASS off. He learned from Mama. Over the holidays last year we all cooked a dish. My Brother went APE in the kitchen. Ribs & Salmon were his dishes. Although I don’t eat pork, from the on everyone’s face as they ate told me he MURDERED THE RIBS..

image

Here’s how we make our BBQ Sauce

1/2 cup chopped sweet onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 (32-oz.) bottle ketchup (such as Heinz)

1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

1 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup molasses

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper

Preparation

Sauté onion, minced garlic, and jalapeño pepper in hot olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat 4 to 5 minutes or until tender. Stir in ketchup, dark brown sugar, vinegar, molasses , Worcestershire sauce, kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper, and dried crushed red pepper. Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low; simmer, stirring occasionally, 30 minutes. Use immediately, or refrigerate in an airtight container up to 1 month

I Love Food & Food Loves Me Too

Leave a Reply

