Just PEACHY

 

2016-02-12 20.05.10
Peach Cobbler with Homemade Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

Our family is from the south as I have stated many, many times. Peach Cobbler is one of our desserts that we ABSOLUTELY LOVE….I loved being in the kitchen with my Grandmother & Mother pretending to LEARN. Acting like I was eager to report for kitchen duties. It was the FATTIE in me that was the motivation to be in the kitchen sneaking tastes. Not to mention both my Mom & Grandma would let me taste. It was those tastes that I took that were the BEST.

My grandmother & Mama used to make theirs with designs and I try to follow suit. People eat with their eyes. If their anything like me if it looks gross then I DO NOT want to try it. I don’t care how many rave reviews it gets. I TRULY DO EAT WITH MY EYES.

2016-02-24 13.44.34 (1)

For the holidays my Mama would put alcohol in a SPECIAL pan for the adults in the family. As a kid I couldn’t wait to grow up to a taste of THAT special batch of Peach Cobbler. Now that I have the family recipe and access to the many alcoholic options I try to use different ones I come across.

The smell from this cobbler brought back memories of my childhood and my Mama who is no longer here. Food can evoke feelings of nostalgia. Some make me smile. Some make cry and some make me HUNGRY

2016-02-24 13.47.38

When this is brewing on the stovetop the smells are AWESOME. When it goes into the oven the smell intensifies. The smells. The memories.

2016-02-24 13.39.34 (1)

 

I LOVE FOOD & FOOD LOVES ME TOO  BCD01 (2)

 

 

Leave a Reply

